It’s the night before

Tomorrow is the big Cataclysm, but unlike in previous expansions I remain largely ignorant of the expansion that will be hitting WoW live in about 12 hours.  It’s not that I haven’t had any interest in the past week that I’ve been back in and playing WoW, but that there’s just been that much to do to get ready that I haven’t yet combed through all of the information.  I think I generally understand there are a couple of “starter” zones and that we’ll be able to access those zones most easily through our home cities.  However I’m really not looking forward to competing with everyone else trying to cram into the same zones all at once.  I remember all too well how horrible it was in Hellfire Peninsula that first week or Burning Crusade, and I remember how horrible it was in the Fjord in Wrath of the Lich King those first few days as well.  I really don’t want to relive that, so I’ve been giving a lot of thought to leveling through instances for the first 2-3 days at least, then perhaps going back to Mt. Hyjal and completing quests after most of the folks have moved on or continuing onto Deepholme once I hit level 82.

In either case I’ve prepared myself as best I can for Cataclysm by “discovering” Black Rock Caverns, readying several stacks of food and a stack of Flasks, and becoming honor and Justice Point capped.  I’ve also decided to start off Cataclysm by turning in 25 daily quests for a quick injection of XP that I understand will amount to about 32% of a level.  As I’m already parked and ready to turn in all the Hodir quests, it will take me only another 10-15 minutes to travel throughout Icecrown and Sholazar Basin to turn in the rest before I’d need to hearth back to Stormwind to learn the flying skill for Azeroth and pick up the quest that sends me to Hyjal.  I’ll travel to Hyjal to unlock the flight paths and pick up any quests related to BRC and start queuing.  Hopefully by tomorrow night I will have hit 81 and will be a good way toward 82 if I haven’t also hit that as well.

This entry was posted in WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

